Kai Sun 孙凯

Associate Professor
Department of EECS, University of Tennessee


Tel: 865-974-3982
Email: kaisun(at)utk.edu

Address: 612 Min H. Kao Building, 1520 Middle Drive, Knoxville, TN 37996-2250

Dr. Sun's Research Group

Current PhD Students

  • Xin Xu
  • Yang Liu
  • Tianwei Xia
  • Min Xiong

Alumni (7 PhDs, 2 Masters)

  • Denis Osipov, Ph.D. in EE, October 2018 (now with Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
    Dissertation: Adaptive Nonlinear Model Reduction for Fast Power System Simulation

  • Wenyun Ju, Ph.D. in EE, August 2018 (now with Electric Power Group)
    Dissertation: Modeling, Simulation and Analysis of Cascading Outages in Power Systems

  • Yongli Zhu, Ph.D. in EE, July 2018 (now with GEIRI North America)
    Dissertation: Control and Placement of Battery Energy Storage Systems for Power System Oscillation Damping

  • Nan Duan, Ph.D. in EE, November 2017 (now with Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
    Dissertation: Towards Faster-than-real-time Power System Simulation Using a Semi-analytical Approach and High-performance Computing

  • Bin Wang,  Ph.D. in EE, October 2017 (now with Texas A&M University)
    Dissertation: Nonlinear Oscillation Analysis and Modal Decoupling for Power Systems

  • Weihong Huang, M.S. & Ph.D. in EE, December 2014 and October 2017 (now with New York ISO)
    Master’s Thesis: A New Approach to Optimization of Dynamic Reactive Power Sources Addressing FIDVR Issues
    Dissertation: Optimal Allocation of Dynamic Var Sources Addressing FIDVR Issues

  • Fengkai Hu, PhD in Electrical Engineering, July 2016 (now with Siemens)
    Dissertation: Real-time Voltage Stability Monitoring and Control for Load Areas: A Hybrid Approach

  • Hira Amna Saleem, M.S. in Electrical Engineering, May 2014 (now with Shell, Pakistan)
    Master’s Thesis: Microgrid Modeling and Grid Interconnection Studies

 Postdoctoral Researchers

  • Dr. Chengxi Liu (2016-2018, PhD from Aalborg Univ., now Associate Professor with Aalborg Univ.)
  • Dr. Rui Yao (2016-2018, PhD from Tsinghua Univ., now with Argonne National Laboratory )
  • Dr. Junjian Qi (2013-2014, PhD from Tsinghua Univ., now professor with University of Central Florida),   
  • Dr. Miao Fan (2013, PhD from ASU, now with Siemens PTI)

 Visiting Scholars

  • Li Sun (2018-, The University of Hong Kong, China)
  • Dr. Yanhui Xu (2018-, North China Electric Power University)
  • Changsheng Chen (2018-, China Electric Power Research Institute)
  • Guoqiang Zu (2016-2017, Tianjin University, China)
  • Yichen Guo (2016-2018, Shandong University, China)
  • Dr. Huimin Gao (2016, Hangzhou Dianzi University, China)
  • José Iván Reyes Cabrera (2015-2016, CINVESTAV, México), 
  • Donghseng Cai (2014-2016, UESTC, China),   
  • Dr. Hualiang Fang (2015-2016, Wuhan University, China),      
  • Rui Yao (2014-2015, Tsinghua University, China),   
  • Chengxi Liu (2012-2013, Aalborg University, Denmark),                     
  • Dr. Ping Ma (2012-2013, Qingdao University, China)


May 2019

(from left: Changsheng, Yanhui, Xin, Kai, Yang, Tianwei)


December 2017

(front from left, Denis, Wenyun, Weihong, Bin, Nan, Yongli; back from left, Xin, Kai, Rui, Yang, Yichen, Chengxi)


November 2016

(from left, Chengxi, Rui, Kai, Xin, Huimin, Yichen, Wenyun, Guoqiang, Bin, Nan, Xiaowen)


November 2015

(from left, Ivan, Hualiang, Fengkai, Kai, Wenyun, Denis, Weihong, Nan, Yongli, Dongsheng, Bin)


July 2014

(from left, Fengkai, Weihong, Chengxi, Kai, Bin, Yongli)


October 2013 (TVA Buffalo Mountain wind farm)

(from left, Bin, Fengkai, Kai, Miao, Nan, Weihong)